What are Recall Messages in Email:
A message recall is the removal of an email from the recipient's inbox. Emails sent can only be recalled if it was not read or previewed by the recipient.
If the recipient opens the recall message first, the original message gets deleted, and the recipient is notified that the sender has deleted the message from their inbox. If the recipient opens the original message first, the recall fails, and both the original and recall messages are available.
How to Recall a Message in Outlook:
To recall a message sent in error, follow the steps below
- Go to the Sent Items folder.
- Double-click on the message you want to retract to open it in a separate window. The Recall option is not available for a message displayed in the Reading Pane.
- On the Message tab, in the Move group, click Actions > Recall This Message.
In the Recall This Message dialog box, select one of the below options, and click OK:
- Delete unread copies of this message – this will remove the message from the recipient's inbox.
- Delete unread copies and replace with a new message – this will replace the original message with a new one.
How to Recall a Message in Gmail:
For Google Users, recalling an email if fairly easy - it's essentially self sufficient.
- Once you go to send an email, a pop-up message will appear at the bottom of the inbox screen displaying "View Message or Undo Send"
- Click "Undo Send" if recalling a message is desired and make any necessary changes to the email being sent. A notification will pop indicating that the Undo Send was completed and successful.
* To note, the Undo Send pop-up message in Google only appears for approximately 5 seconds once you hit send